Excellence in Technology Award Winners Archive

Five credit unions were honored as winners of the 17th annual CUNA Technology Council’s Excellence Awards, which recognizes outstanding approaches to technology challenges with potential for universal application across the credit union movement. The award winners were recognized during the Council’s 22nd annual conference, which took place October 1 - 4 in Phoenix.

2018 Winners

2018 Technology Council Award Winners

Best of Show: BCU in Vernon Hills

Best of Show: BCU in Vernon Hills, IL won for their “Automation in Action” entry (assets > $500 Million)  View the Entry

Alliant Credit Union

Alliant Credit Union in Chicago, IL won for their “Consumer Lending Platform” entry (assets > $500 Million)  View the Entry

Open Technology Solutions

Open Technology Solutions in Centennial, CO, in collaboration with Shared Service Solutions (S3), Bellco CU, Bethpage FCU, and State Employees CU of Maryland won for their “Open Technology Solutions Migration Tools and Process” entry (assets > $500 Million)


OCCU in Springfield, OR won for their “CIO Dashboard in ServiceNow” entry (assets > $500 Million)

Point Breeze Credit Union

Point Breeze Credit Union in Hunt Valley, MD won for their “Web Isolation: entry (assets > $500 Million)  View the entry

2017 Winners

Alliant Credit Union


Alliant CU in Chicago, IL, won for their two entries titled “Credit Union Innovation – Hackathons can pave a fast track” and “Custom Develop Mobile Banking Apps.”  View Entry #1  |   View Entry #2

Harborstone Credit Union


Harborstone CU in Lakewood, WA, won for their entry titled “BreakFree Checking Rewards Tracker.”  View the Entry

Hughes Federal Credit Union 


Hughes FCU in Tucson, AZ (submitted by Fiserv, Alpharetta, GA), won for their entry titled “Using Biometrics to Build an Efficient Team and Better Member Experiences.”  View the entry.

Oregon Community Credit Union


Oregon Community CU in Springfield, OR, won for their two entries titled “Branch in a Box” and “Preapproval Project.”  View Entry #1  |   View Entry #2



STCU in Liberty Lake, WA, won for their entry titled “Self-service.”  View the entry.

2001-2016 Winners